Charged with a Second or Third Offense?
Penalties for Multiple Offenses
If you have been charged with any form of
driving while intoxicated (DWI) charge, you can expect prosecution to act in a very harsh manner
toward you. Second and third DWI offenses, however, are much more severe
for individuals who have been previously arrested for DWI. If accused
of a second or subsequent DWI offense, the law in Texas requires the court
to order an interlock ignition device (IID) to be installed in your vehicle.
The IID is a deep lung device that is installed in the car of the individual
who intends to drive. Prior to operating the vehicle, the driver will
need to provide a breath sample before the car can be started.
Courts in Texas will also impose other serious penalties for individuals
convicted of a second or third DWI. Fines for second DWI offenses range
up to a maximum of $4,000. The offender can also be ordered to confinement
in county jail for a minimum of 72 hours and a maximum of 1 year. His
or her license can also be suspended for up to two years. A third-degree
felony can be charged after a third DWI offense. The jail sentence will
include confinement in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice, Institutional
Division for a minimum of 2 years and up to 10 years.
Rockwall DWI Attorney
More than just one DWI within a certain period can indicate a serious problem
with alcohol, and therefore, rehabilitative treatment may be imposed as
an additional punishment. Texas courts take such offenses very seriously,
which is why you should take action to ensure that your case is handled
in a cautious manner. As your
Rockwall criminal defense attorney, I can help you pursue a strong case result when you call for a case evaluation.
Contact Attorney Alton Estrada today for the experienced legal guidance you need.